Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

vicious

Publisher: Titan Books
Release date: January 10, 2014
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Pages: 340
Goodreads || Book Depository

A masterful tale of ambition, jealousy, desire, and superpowers.

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates – brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong.

Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find – aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge – but who will be left alive at the end?

MY THOUGHTS

45 stars

I love a good story about ambition and vengeance and Vicious definitely delivered. It’s an intense story about jealousy, ambition and heroism, from the perspectives of a group of antiheroes and misfits.

Despite having heard a million times what Vicious is about, I still managed to be surprised by the plot that unfolded. It was engaging and suspenseful and played out in the most seamlessly unpredictable way. We follow Victor Vale, a man who has just escaped from prison and is intent on getting revenge on his former close friend in college. Victor and Eli were intelligent and driven boys who were intrigued by the possibility of creating ExtraOrdinary people who have superpowers. The boys tested their hypothesis on themselves, and their relationship and their sense of morality deteriorates rapidly soon after. When Victor is locked up in jail, he spends his ten years in prison planning his escape and his revenge against Eli. And when, upon escaping, he realises that Eli is on a mission to ‘remove’ all ExtraOrdinaries from the world, he’s more determined than ever to get his revenge.

There were a couple of things that drew me in to the plot of Vicious. The book starts off with a very intriguing and mysterious first chapter that reminded me a lot of The Raven Boys. I was then immediately captivated by the science in the first couple of chapters and how the boys talked about variables and the scientific method. But all of that was quickly eclipsed by the chilling actions of the boys and how the idea of villainy and heroism was explored. I really liked how Vicious explores what it means to be a hero and whether possessing superpowers makes you a hero. It also explores whether eradicating powers that you think are evil, makes you a hero. I just enjoyed and appreciated how much the novel made me think.

This novel is split into two parts and for the first half of the book, we explore the events that have led up to the present day. We get to see the Victor and Eli from ten years ago, who are experimenting with their lives and going down a dangerous path. We get to see the events from a couple days ago when Victor escapes from prison with his cellmate, Mitch. And we get to see what happens when Victor finds a girl who’s been shot, as well as the things that have happened to her to get her in this predicament. There are lots of different timelines in this book and the chapters jump back and forth between them. I actually really liked this non-linear format because it added some suspense and allowed me to try to put the pieces together before they were revealed. The second part of this book also contains a non-linear timeline but is more focused on the present day. The last 50 pages of the book follows a much more linear timeline, as the book literally counts down to its climax. I really enjoyed the format of the book and that the chapters were short. It made the story very exciting to read.

I also enjoyed the writing of the book immensely. I thought the pacing was slow but it was just the right amount of slow for the tone and atmosphere of the story. It was slow in a dark and dangerous kind of way and I thought it worked really well. V.E. Schwab’s writing drew me in and I just sped through the book because it was so captivating.

Of course, the characters were spectacular in this book and I believe they are what makes this novel exceptional. They were complex and I love a book about villains and antiheroes. I love a book that focuses on morally grey characters and makes them simultaneously relatable and repulsive. There wasn’t a single character in this book who I didn’t like (though like may not be the right word here since we’re dealing with villains and dislikable people). I thought they all added something to the story and represented a different shade of morally grey. The characters were brilliantly conceptualised and I thought they were all developed and utilised to their potential.

I’m really excited about the sequel that’s in the works and I can’t wait to see how the story continues because I loved Vicious a lot as a standalone.

18 thoughts on “Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

  1. Zoe says:

    YES! I absolutely loved this one too, so it makes me so happy to see you enjoyed it as much as I did. 🙂 I completely agree with everything you’ve said – it was such a fascinating character study and I love how it blurred the lines between good and evil. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      Thanks Zoe for always commenting! ❤
      I don't know why it took me so long to read Vicious because everyone loves it and considers it to be their favourite Schwab book. I think I was a little bit skeptical going in because I wasn't sure that I'd love it as much as everyone else. But boy did I love this! Victor's character was just amazing and I can't wait to see more of him!

      Like

  2. Valerie says:

    I’ve been meaning to read this since FOREVER, and I’m glad to see another positive review on it! I’ve been wanting to read more about anti-heroes and of course villains, so that’s just more motivation to read this book.

    Awesome review Jenna! I’m glad there’s a sequel in the works! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      I had been meaning to read this since forever as well! I was just a bit hesitant to pick it up since everyone and their mother loves it. But it was definitely a great book about anti-heroes and villains, so I really recommend it. It’s also not a long read, which helps!

      Like

  3. Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

    Omigoshhh I’m so happy you enjoyed this one, and the fact that it made you think so much! Is Victor the main character? I adore the fact that Schwab explores what makes someone a villain and what makes them a hero. I have a copy of this but definitely need to pick it up soon 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    YAY I LOVE THAT YOU LOVE VICIOUS. I think it’s my favourite Schwab book to date, and it’s the sort of book I tell my non-reading friends to read? It’s just so engaging and compelling, and faultless entertainment-wise. I agree that all of the characters contributed something meaningful to the story. I loved Mitch, Sydney and Serena (even though she was terrible) — and of course Eli and Victor too. GAH, I love them all.

    I’m really excited for the sequel too. I’m really interested to see the direction Schwab will take with the story? Either way, I’m confident it’ll be good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      YES! I’m so glad that I finally read it and that it was just as good as everyone says it is. The characters were all fantastic and I really cannot wait to see where Schwab takes the story in the sequel. I’m sure it’ll be great since Victor will be in it and I cannot wait to revisit all the characters!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment