The NY Times Book Tag

ny-times-book-tag

It’s been a really, really, REALLY long time since I’ve done a tag and I had no post prepared for today so I thought I’d go ahead and do the NY Times Book Tag today. I was tagged by Casey @ Adoptabookaus, and some other people who I can’t remember! Ever since I stopped doing tags regularly, I’ve stopped keeping track. GAHHH.

What is on your nightstand right now?

the-hating-game I’m a book monogamist so I only ever have on book on my nightstand (and this same book follows me around during the day too). Also I use the word ‘nightstand’ very loosely because my books sleep next to me on my bed.

The book that I’m currently reading is The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. It’s really cute and uplifting and I’m loving it so far. I read Sally’s fanfiction back in 2009/2010 and I’ve been following her on Twitter ever since so I’m so happy to have her debut novel in my hands right now!

What was the last truly great book you read?

eleanor-and-park I’ve read lots of great books in the last few weeks, including Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington, The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You by Lily Anderson, The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee, and of course, Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas.

But the book that I’ve most recently added to my favourites shelf on Goodreads is Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. It was absolutely amazing and was a truly great read.

If you could meet any author – dead or alive- who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I would love to meet Anthony Doerr, the author of my favourite book of all time, All the Light We Cannot See. I’d love to know his research process because his books are so extremely well-researched and I know that All the Light We Cannot See took over ten years to research and write.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

I don’t really think that I have any books on my shelf that would surprise anyone. I read pretty widely and I have a good mix of both adult and young adult books, as well as non-fiction psychology books. I have a set of 20+ Horrible Histories books? Is that surprising?

How do you organise your personal library?

I currently have rainbow bookshelves! I have a shelf just for series and trilogies because I can’t bare to split the books apart, but the rest of my books are sorted by colour. My TBR books are not part of the rainbow, but are hidden in separate shelves with doors so that nobody can see how big my collection of unread books are πŸ˜„

What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten around to?

the-unbearable-lightness-of-being I’ve started The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera probably three times and I’ve never had the time to read it to the end. I’m hoping to finally complete this book this year because I love Kundera and this was the first of his books that I ever bought.

In addition to this, I also have a few Haruki Murakami books that I need to finally read. I still have get to read The Wind Up Bird Chronicle, even though I’ve had it for so long that the edition I own is no longer in print.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: What book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?

our-chemical-hearts it-ends-with-us stitching-snow I have an endless list for this question but three recent disappointments were Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland, It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover and Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis. I expected to like these books a lot more than I actually did and I rated them all 3 or 3.5 stars.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

My favourite genre is contemporary so I’ll always be drawn to them. In particular, I love mental illness books, realistic fiction and cutesy contemporary romances. The genres that I stay clear of are crime and thrillers.

If you could require that the president read one book, what would it be?

all-the-light-we-cannot-see This needs no explanation if you’ve followed me or my blog for a while.

I will never ever stop recommending and pushing All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. I’ve made pretty much all my friends read it and they’ve all loved it so more people need to listen to me when I say that this book is amazing and my favourite book in existence.

Now it would be great if the president/prime minister/whatever could read it and push it too πŸ˜€

What do you plan to read next?

heartless swarm Once I’m done with reading The Hating Game, I’m planning to read either Heartless by Marissa Meyer, which I’ve had for weeks and weeks now and have been dying to read, or Swarm by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti. I want to read Heartless next just because I’ve been really excited to read it but kept having to put it off to prioritise review books. But having said that… I need to readΒ Swarm for review soon HAHA.

I Tag:

I tag everyone! If you want to do this then go right ahead! (I really have become a lazy blogger. I’m sorry).

5 thoughts on “The NY Times Book Tag

  1. Chantal says:

    I love this tag and your answers! I’m 100% with you on All The Light We Cannot See: I read that book at the beginning of September and I am in LOVE. One of the best books I’ve read this year and one of my new favourites of all time. It’s so beautifully written and poetic and the characters are so…real. Everyone should read it πŸ™‚
    It’s good to hear you enjoyed Eleanor & Park; I own the book but I’ve heard a lot of negative things about its representation. But hearing you loved it gives me hope!
    I absolutely NEED to read a Haruki Murakami book already but I have no idea where to start :/
    I’m really excited about Swarm as well, I really enjoyed Zeroes and I think the series has great potential. Again, fantastic post, Jenna!

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    haha I do the same thing with All the Light We Cannot See! I’m hoping to reread it during my winter break because it’s been far too long since I first read it. ❀

    Like

  3. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    YESSS i love E&P so much, I’m so glad I read it recently! YAY for rainbow bookshelves Jenna! I hide my TBR away too lol. Swarm is the next ozyay next month so I’ll be reading Zeroes soonish. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Heartless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

