Top Ten Tuesday: Ten 2015 Releases That I Didn’t Get To

ten-2015-releases-i-didnt-get-to

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the team over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week I’ll be featuring ten 2015 releases that I didn’t manage to get to in 2015. All of the books on my list are books that I own and acquired in 2015. Goodreads pages are linked!


 

1. The Weight of Feathers – Anna-Marie McLemore

I picked this one up in December of 2015 so I don’t feel too bad about not having read it. I know lots of bloggers who highly recommend this one, including Aila @ One Way or an Author and Summer @ Xingsings, so I’m keen to pick this one up real soon.

2. Challenger Deep – Neal Shusterman

I bought this one in November, so again I don’t feel too bad about not getting to it in 2015. This one won the National Book Award last year and I picked it up after seeing it featured in my bookstore.

3. Made You Up – Francesca Zappia

Now this is one that I’ve had on my shelf for a really long time. I ordered this not long after it was released… so I’ve had this one since May. Whoops. I was really excited for this Made You Up because it deals with schizophrenia and nothing makes me happier than a good book about mental illness. But I saw CW @ Read Think Ponder’s review and she mentioned some things that put a bad taste in my mouth…

4. The Accident Season – MoΓ―ra Fowley-Doyle

I picked up this one in September using some gift vouchers that I received for my birthday. I would’ve picked it up straight away… but I also picked up like 6 other books on the same day. It was a case of too many books, too little time.

5. Wolf by Wolf – Ryan Graudin

This is another on that I bought in December so I don’t feel too terrible about it being unread. I’ve heard amazing things about it so I cannot wait to read it in the coming months.

6. The Sword of Summer – Rick Riordan

Jeann @ Happy Indulgence sent me her ARC of this in December and I wanted to read it straight away but I also received some other great books from her that I decided to pick up first.

7. Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club – Alison Goodman

I received an ARC of this book at the HarperCollins BTCYA event (recapped in this post) in November but still haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I’ve since received a finished copy so I’ll be reading it soon. I’ve heard some mixed things from my co-bloggers over at Happy Indulgence. Jeann DNFed it but Aila really enjoyed it… so I’m excited to see what I think of it. We’ll be doing a discussion review over on Happy Indulgence… as soon as I’ve read it.

8. The Peony Lantern – Frances Watts

This is another book that I acquired thanks to the HarperCollins BTCYA event. It was one of the featured OzYA HarperCollins titles and it sounded so interesting that I had to buy it at the end of the event. It’s a historical fiction novel, set in Japan.

9. Wind/Pinball: Two Novels – Haruki Murakami

I buy pretty much all of Murakami’s new releases (well, newly translated), even though I don’t get to them straight away. This one has the most eye-catching cover. Because it contains two stories, it has two different covers and they’re both so interesting to look at! Wind/Pinball was purchased in August and I feel terrible that I haven’t read it yet. One day…

10. One Hundred Days of Happiness – Fausto Brizzi

I can’t remember when I bought this one but I’m guessing it was around August or September. This was caught my eye when I was browsing the new adult releases and it had such an interesting premise and format that I had to pick it up.I don’t think this is actually a new release. I’m guessing that it’s been published previously in Italian but newly translated? Regardless it sounds fantastic and I hope I can get to it soon.

56 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten 2015 Releases That I Didn’t Get To

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      Oh no! I’ve only heard amazing things about The Accident Season so I’m sad that it was a miss for you. I think I’ll probably enjoy the magical realism aspect of it, at least. I cannot wait to read Magnus Chase! I’ve heard such great things about it but I wanted to read PJO and The Heroes of Olympus first.

      Like

  1. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    Of course I can’t wait to hear what you think of Lady Helen! I’ve seen Murukami’s releases around but haven’t gotten to reading one, I was really interesting by 1Q84 and the library one but have been intimidated by the first one’s length lol. Hope you get around to some of these!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nirvana says:

    I never though of Made You Up the same way, but reading CW’s review has put an entirely different perspective. I think it’s a great book, inaccuracies aside, so if you read it as a light book, it’s really cute, and I think you’ll like it πŸ™‚ ALSO. That cover ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Samantha @ Book Minx says:

    Wolf by Wolf always looks interesting whenever I see it. I love the cover it has too.

    One Hundred Days of Happiness also looks interesting, but like it would be a tear jerker, so I’m resisting the urge to get it since those kinds of books always remain on my shelves unread. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Brigid Gorry-Hines says:

    Definitely read Wolf by Wolf! I read it in December and it really blew my mind. πŸ™‚ I also really enjoyed Magnus Chase. Challenger Deep was good too, although it’s not my favorite of Neal Shusterman’s books. Haven’t read any of the others but I should check them out! And I hope you enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      I’ve read so many positive reviews for Wolf by Wolf in the past few weeks. I cannot wait to read it now! I was a bit hesitant to pick it up straight away because the book seemed a little chunky but I’ve been told that it’s actually really fast-paced. Cannot wait to dive into that one! I haven’t read anything by Neal Shusterman so I’m keen to see what Challenger Deep is all about! I don’t think I’ll be disappointed by that one.

      Like

  5. Lois says:

    I was so excited about The Weight of Feathers but the book kind of got lost in the shuffle of all the other books I wanted to read. Hopefully I can get my hands on a copy this year. Made you Up has me conflicted. Part of me wants to read it but the reaction has been mixed. I might read it but it’s not a priority as of now. I’ve not read any of Murakami’s work but they sound interesting so I think I’m going to have to check them out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      Yeah I’m a bit unsure about Made You Up as well… It was on so many people’s 2015 favourites list but I also know lots of people who didn’t like it. I’ll probably read it anyway since I already own it and it would be silly to just give it away without giving it a chance. I’ve heard AMAZING things about The Weight of Feathers. I’ve heard that the diversity in that book is wonderful. It actually wasn’t really on my radar, but then one day I saw that my bookstore had it so I had to pick it up because I remember Summer saying that it was amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      I have no idea where to start either!! HELP! Haha, I think I’ll probably read The Weight of Feathers soon. And probably The Sword of Summer. I wanted to read that one last month but decided to wait until I’d read PJO and The Heroes of Olympus first. It just made more sense to start with PJO since I’d never read anything by Rick Riordan. But I’m planning a Heroes of Olympus marathon in February, so hopefully Magnus Chase will soon follow!

      Like

  6. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I really want to read The Weight of Feathers as well! It totally sound like my thing with all the magical realism and lyrical writing, WHY CAN’T I FIND A COPY HERE? I LOVEEEE The Accident Season and hope you will read it soon – the friendships and all the romance in that book is just GUH – it made my heart twist a little and I am not using one to say these things. Wind/Pinball were.. OKAY, you can tell it’s his first novels though πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      I originally thought that The Weight of Feathers wasn’t published in Australia but then I randomly saw copies at Kinokuniya so I snatched it up! Maybe it’s just Kinokuniya that decided to get copies from overseas? Oh damn, I was really looking forward to Wind/Pinball but I’m keen to read some of his earlier stuff anyway. The Accident Season will be read soon! I promise!!

      Like

  7. Ksenia says:

    I’ve been thinking about picking up Accident Season, so I look forward to hear your thoughts about it. Good luck with reading all books on your list, Jenna!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

