Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

blue-lily-lily-blue

Publisher: Scholastic
Release date: October 21, 2014
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 391
Goodreads || Book Depository

Blue Lily, Lily Blue is the third instalment of The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. This review doesn’t contain any spoilers for the first two books, The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves, but you should probably read those reviews first.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue Synopsis

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

MY THOUGHTS

5 stars

Blue Lily, Lily Blue is my favourite of The Raven Cycle so far. It was well-paced and the story was captivating. I enjoyed the characters even more in this book (and I didn’t think that was possible).

This third instalment is much faster in pace than the two previous books. It’s still quite slow, but compared to the first two books, this one almost moves at a regular pace. It had more of a sense of urgency, which made the book even more mysterious and eerie for me. This book was also more magical and paranormal than the previous books, adding to the mysterious atmosphere and tone of the book.

While The Raven Cycle and The Dream Thieves provided more questions than answers, Blue Lily, Lily Blue started answering some of these questions. Pieces of the puzzle started to come together and the story developed much faster as a result. The whole book just made more sense and allowed me to start theorising and speculating, which I wasn’t able to do for the first two books because I was so confused. It was the first book in the series so far that had a plot that was almost as captivating as the characters. Almost.

This series remains a character-driven series for me. Each of the characters underwent even further development, which I didn’t think was possible because Maggie Stiefvater’s characterisation has been perfect already. The characters became even more multifaceted and I just fell in love with them further. Each character has skills to bring to the table and they’re all essential to the story. Certain characters that I didn’t love in the first two books definitely became more likeable in this third book and I was firmly behind them and on their side.

Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other.

The relationships between the characters were the most noteworthy aspect of Blue Lily, Lily Blue for me. Blue and the Raven Boys care so deeply about one another that my heart was just squeezing inside my chest the whole time. I absolutely loved every Gansey and Blue scene and I will ship Blansey until the end of time. But I also absolutely enjoyed everybody’s worry and love for Gansey and OMG MY HEART.

I absolutely cannot wait for The Raven King to be released in April! The ending of Blue Lily, Lily Blue had me on the edge of my seat and I need to know what happens next!

15 thoughts on “Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I read one of her books forever ago (when I was in my actual teens!), and I didn’t like it so much. I’ve heard great reviews about this series so far. I think maybe 2016 is my year to start getting over my negative feelings about book series.

    Incidentally I’m about half way through Winter right now and OMG.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      Oh maybe you read Shiver? I know a lot of people don’t really like that series, but I didn’t mind it that much. This series is much better though! You should definitely give it a go next year, especially with the last book coming out!

      I am so glad that you’re enjoying Winter!! I LOVE IT SO MUCH!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lois says:

    Blue Lily, Lily Blue is without a doubt the best installment to the series and again for me it all came down to the characters. Like you said each character has a part to play and I just love that all the characters have a distinct personality. Gansey and Blue are definitely my favourites. I just love the chemistry and intimacy we were treated with in their stolen moments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

