Secret Santa Blog Hop 2015 | Aussie YA Bloggers

AusYABloggers_SecretSanta

I’m participating in the Aussie YA Bloggers Secret Santa this year. This blog hop is designed for all of the Aussie YA bloggers to get to know each other better and to find clues about who their Secret Santa is! Without further ado, let’s find out if I’ve been a good or naughty blogger this year.

1. What are your top 5 favourite books this year?

ill-give-you-the-sunΒ  winterΒ  carry-on Β six-of-crows queen-of-shadows

This was really, really hard because I love my contemporaries and I had so many that I wanted to mention but I’ll have to go with these five. There’s probably a recency effect at play here though since I read Winter, Carry On and Six of Crows just last month.

2. How did you go with your Goodreads challenge?

I have to say… I’m killing it! I set myself a 50 book goal at the beginning of the year but completed it in March, so I extended it to 100. Then 150. And now my reading goal is 200 books and I’m 12 books away! I think I’ll be able to do it.

Screen Shot 2015-12-05 at 8.11.47 pm

3. How many times did you post a week on average? Do you think you’ll post more/less in the future?

I posted about 4-5 times a week on my blog but now I try to keep to a schedule of 4 posts per week. I’m a co-blogger at Happy Indulgence so that makes it 5 posts a week anyway. I’ll probably try to stick to the same schedule next year, depending on how real life plays out.

4. What is your favourite blogging moment/achievement of 2015?

My favourite blogging moment was probably becoming a co-blogger at Happy Indulgence. It’s been so much fun chatting, fangirling and blogging with Jeann and Aila.

5. Did you read mostly review or non-review books this year?

I read mostly non-review books this year! I’m really happy with the fact that I’ve mostly read books that I want to read this year and that I haven’t really requested anything for the last couple of months.

6. What are your blogging goals for 2016?

I’m pretty happy with the way that things are going right now so I want to maintain what I’m currently doing. However, I do want to do better when it comes to blog hopping and commenting. I was pretty on top of things at the beginning but in the last few weeks I’ve been replying to comments later and later and not checking my feed regularly. So my goal for next year is to stay on top of things a little bit better.

7. What books are you looking forward to in 2016?

I’m going to mention 5 fantasy and 5 contemporary 2016 YA releases:

FANTASY

CONTEMPORARY

Based on the answers above, have you been a good or naughty blogger this year?

Definitely good! Super good, I would say πŸ™‚

Leave 3 clues to help your santee guess who you are!

  1. You went to your first book launch at the end of October (and took lots of awesome photos!)
  2. You’re a Goodreads Librarian!
  3. Your preferred genre is the same as mine – YA contemporary!

#LoveOzYA? Join the Australian YA Bloggers on Goodreads and Facebook to join in the fun!

Follow the Aussie YA Bloggers Secret Santa blog hop!

22 thoughts on “Secret Santa Blog Hop 2015 | Aussie YA Bloggers

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      I can’t believe I’ve read close to 200 either!! But because I’ve read so much I’ve had lots of books to write reviews for. So I guess that’s where all my posts are coming from too πŸ™‚ Once I get to 200 I’m probably going to collapse and go into a book-induced coma until 2016 HAHA. If you don’t hear from me, that’s why XD

      Like

  1. Reg | She Latitude says:

    200 books is a massive amount, congratulations! I’ve been thinking about reading I’ll Give You The Sun because I’ve heard such great reviews, but I have sooo many books on my TBR already. I’m definitely bumping it up my priorities though because of this post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josephine says:

    How lovely! I would have loved to participate in this, but maybe next year I shall! For now I’ll sit back and have a little look at how all you Aussie bloggers do this Secret Santa thingo!
    I’m so excited for each and every one of those upcoming fantasy releases! I almost cried when I heard about Lady Midnight a while back! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      It’s been a lot of fun! You should totally participate next year πŸ™‚ It’s exciting because you kinda know what you’re getting (we posted a wishlist of three books) but you still have no idea until you receive it! I can’t wait! I’m going to ship out my present tomorrow πŸ˜€ And it’s such a great way of getting to know other Aussie bloggers. The blog hop is a great idea and I’m just stalking everyone right now, trying to figure out who my Secret Santa is!
      I cannot wait for Lady Midnight! I was feeling a bit meh about it because I don’t think I’m that interested in Emma’s story… I’d much prefer to have the James Herondale trilogy first… but the cover for Lady Midnight really sold it for me. It’s beautiful!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Josephine says:

        How many people are participating?! 😊 That’s so exciting and fun, agh I may definitely participate next year.

        Ooh there’s a James Herondale trilogy coming too? 😱 Lady Midnight is totally a case of cover love!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

          I think there are 23 people participating this year? I’m sending out my gift today and I’m so excited!
          YEAH! There’s a trilogy all about James Herondale and I’m pretty sure Will, Tessa and Jem will be in it too. It’s called The Last Hours and the first book is coming out next year. From what I’ve read of James’s story in The Bane Chronicles, it sounds like it’s going to be awesome!!!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    Aww, I’m so envious of how close knit the Aussie book blogging community seems to be! And 200 books?? Oh my, that’s so awesome! πŸ˜€ I love how you continued to extend it as the year passed. Do you plan to set it as 200 from the get go in 2016? Or do your safe 50 book increment thing again? πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bernadette G (The Bumbling Bookworm) says:

    I think I know who my Secret Santa is πŸ™‚
    Thank you so much for my pressie, it arrived today and I love it!
    Also, I can’t believe how many books you’ve read, that’s amazing!! You should be very proud πŸ™‚ I haven’t been around much the past year for various reasons, but I’m looking to get more involved so hopefully I’ll see you around in the blogosphere!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joy @ Thoughts By J says:

    200 books omgosh Jenna you are KILLING IT GURL!! What an amazing year you’ve had. Although I met you recently, I’m so glad that you joined in on the fun of Secret Santa. I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of each other, and chatting about books throughout 2016. Yew! I love ALL your fantasy choices, I’m a big fantasy fan myself so I definitely want to devour them all. Just need to find more time for reading next year 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

