Pastry Book Tag

pastry-book-tag

I have the biggest sweet tooth, so when Jesse @ Books at Dawn tagged me to do the Pastry Book Tag, I just had to do it. I was so excited that I even modified my usual tag header into a pastry-themed one.


CROISSANT: NAME A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE (INCLUDING YOU) LOVES

clockworkangel clockworkprinceclockworkprincessIs there anybody out there who actually doesn’t like The Infernal Devices?! I love this series so, so much. Clockwork Princess is probably my favourite series finale ever!


MACARON: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS HARD TO GET THROUGH BUT WORTH IT AT THE END

alittlelife Man… this book.

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara was amazing but my heart suffered such a beating. This novel gave me so many feels and I just felt emotionally drained after each chapter. It was also a 720 page book so it took me forever to get through it.

But it was completely worth it because A Little Life has become one of my favourite books of all time. It’s truly beautiful.


VOL-AU-VENT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WOULD BE AMAZING BUT FELL FLAT

i-was-here I was expecting a lot of great things from I Was Here by Gayle Forman but unfortunately, it fell a little bit short. Just One Day is one of my favourite YA books, and I also loved her If I Stay duology, so I thought I Was Here would blow my mind. It wasn’t a terrible book by any means – I still gave it 3 stars – but I was just expecting a lot more from it.

I just found the plot to be a little bit lacking and I don’t think the issue of teen suicide was dealt with well enough. I also wasn’t a fan of the romance.


PAIN AU CHOCOLAT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WOULD BE ONE THING BUT TURNED OUT TO BE SOMETHING ELSE

findingaudrey Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella was one that I was pleasantly surprised by. Going into the book, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to connect with the main character, who’s only 14 years old. But I ended up loving Audrey’s voice and really connected with her.

I was kind of worried that the anxiety aspects of the book wouldn’t be handled well but I was so wrong about that. I was also a bit wary of the book because I thought it would be a ‘love cures all’ kind of story but I didn’t find that to be the case at all.


PROFITEROLE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT DOESN’T GET ENOUGH ATTENTION

missperegrines hollow-citylibrary-of-soulsI read the Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children series recently and my mind was blown by how great it was! I also have reviews for Hollow City and Library of Souls.


CROQUEMBOUCHE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT’S EXTREMELY COMPLEX

snowlikeashes icelikefireSnow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch has such a grand and complex world. There are 8 kingdoms in this world – 4 are Season kingdoms that only experience one season all year round; the other 4 are Rhythm kingdoms that experience all four seasons. The magic system is also really complex and will be explored further in Ice Like Fire, I’m sure. I can’t wait to get my hands on it.


NAPOLEON: NAME A MOVIE OR TV SHOW BASED OFF A BOOK THAT YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK ITSELF

gossip-girl This is an interesting one. I can’t think of a movie adaptation that I thought was better than the book. And I don’t really watch a lot of TV (I mainly watch Japanese dramas and variety shows). But one that sticks out in my mind is Gossip Girl.

I read the Gossip Girl books by Cecily von Zeigesar about a year or two before the TV show came out and my 14 year old self thought they were really good. But the TV show is sooo much better than the book series. I’m glad it deviated from the books.


EMPANADA: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS BITTERSWEET

morehappythannot I don’t have an image of empanadas being bittersweet. To me, they’re just awesome, but we’ll roll with it.

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera was a book that I gave 4.5 stars to. But I thought the first third of the book was just boring. I didn’t like the characters and didn’t connect with any of them and I was really close to quitting the book. But it got exponentially better after the 100 page mark, and the end of the book gave me so many feels. I ugly cried for a really long time.


KOLOMPEH: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT TAKES PLACE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN YOUR HOME COUNTRY

theminiaturist Pretty much every book is set in a country other than Australia so I had a lot of options for this one. I decided to go for something a little different and not choose something set in the US or the UK.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton is set in 17th century Amsterdam in the Netherlands. This is the only book that I’ve read that’s set in 17th century Amsterdam and I found the setting and the whole time period to be fascinating! I learnt so much about Dutch history from this book and I thought it was a wonderful read.


PATE A CHOUX: NAME A FOOD FROM A BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY

toalltheboys ps-i-still-love-youI was not creative with this at all but I couldn’t think of anything.

Because this is a pastry/sweets challenge, I decided to go with all of the cookies and cakes that Lara-Jean from To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and PS. I Still Love You. All the baked goods that were mentioned in this duology made me so hungry!


I TAG:


36 thoughts on “Pastry Book Tag

  1. Trisha Ann says:

    I actually bought the first Miss Peregrines when I read your review and OMG it’s one of the best-looking books ever!! I’m thinking it’s the perfect halloween read πŸ™‚ I have never read Gossip Girl but I was a fan of the show too in high school! I hope they make a reunion or something. Thanks for tagging me, Jenna! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      OMG yay! I’m so happy that my excitement about Miss Peregrine’s led you to buy it. I hope you love the content as much as the design of it πŸ™‚ It’s definitely a really great Halloween read. It’s not too scary but has some spooky elements. And the story is so magical!

      If you do this tag, try not to google images of all of the pastries. I got so hungry while writing this post. You’ve been warned! πŸ˜€

      Like

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      If you love historical fiction I think you’ll really love The Miniaturist. It has lots and lots of historical elements. The first 150 pages is kind of slow but the rest will mess with your emotions!

      I love Miss Peregrine’s so much! I’m sad that I didn’t read it sooner. The photographs are so unique and magical to look at.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    I’ve got such a sweet tooth, too! πŸ™‚ Great answers! I really enjoy the Gossip Girl tv show, too, I find it very different from the books, but it’s really good. And the actors are great, and I loved the fact that they gave such a bigger place to Chuck than they did in the books πŸ™‚
    Those Jenny Han’s books are the worst if you’re hungry, they totally gave me craving cookies and all kinds of baked goods, I just wanted to eat everything, haha πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ashley says:

    Great answers! I am really hoping to get to More Happy Than Not before the end of the year. I’ve been dying to read Snow Like Ashes and I am so glad I was finally able to get a copy! Can’t wait to start that one. I haven’t read the Infernal Devices yet. I’ve been kind of dreading it? I ended up really disliking the Mortal Instruments series during the 4th book and kind of been nervous to hop back into the Shadowhunter world again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ayunda says:

    The Miniaturist is really high on my TBR because I currently live in the Netherlands! And I’m really interested in A Little Life as well, I’ve heard so many good things about it πŸ˜…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      Oh that’s so cool! The Miniaturist has lots of 17th century Dutch culture which I think you’ll enjoy. It also has lots of Dutch words in it too. The beginning is slow but the rest of the book is filled with mystery and twists. I hope you pick it up!

      A Little Life is one of my favourite books of all time now! I think it’s amazing and a worthy Man Booker shortlist title.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    This tag is so cute, I have to get around to doing it XD! So many ignored tags omg. HOW ARE YOU FEELING ABOUT THE CROQUEMBOCHE THOUGH?
    This reminds me I have to read A Little Life but the size of the book scares me a little OMG.
    I also need to get Miss Peregrine’s for my little pile of Halloween reads!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

      The croquembouche must be a really high tower because it’s taking me forever to finish it. It’s like super tasty but I just want to get to the end or the climax haha. I’m still not even halfway.

      A Little Life is like another croquembouche. It’s like the tallest one you’ve ever seen and after every chapter you’re like “no I cannot eat anymore”. But it’s so yummy that you keep going. And then at the end you’re sick from the feels and literally cannot go on with life. But worth it.

      Like

  6. cwreads says:

    TEA CUP ART. Ask, and you shall receive!
    But oh my gosh, I Was Here. -____- I completely agree with you. It was just one of those books that have so much potential but then it was an opportunity missed. I think it focused too much on the MC’s quest for closure but missed everything else. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    I’m pretty excited for Snow Like Ashes because Wesaun at Oreo and Books adores the world Sara created. As for your Forman choice, I’m actually one of the few people that can’t really get into her writing. I read If I Stay years ago and thought it was okay (I didn’t really like ya contemporary other than Sarah Dessen then though), but I do plan to reread it to see if I like it better. And I’ve heard Where She Went is a great sequel. Thank you for the tag, Jenna! And I love your sweet banner this time. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

