Summer Reader Book Tag

summer-reader

I don’t do awards or tags that often, even though they’re some of my favourite posts to read. But I’m currently reading A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara and it’s a 700+ page literary fiction book, with really intense and graphic scenes. Since it’s taking me a long time to read and I don’t have any review posts scheduled, I thought I would catch up on some tags and knock a few off my never-ending to-do list!

I was tagged by Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts to do the Summer Reader Book Tag (which is my second summer-related book tag in a row). Thanks for tagging me Joey!


LEMONADE – A book that started off bitter but got better

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera:
This was the first one that came to mind. The first 100 pages of this book were very boring to me and I wasn’t connecting with any of the characters. But the book got better and better and it ended with such a bang that I still ended up giving this book 4.5 stars.


GOLDEN SUN – a book that made you smile beyond compare

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han:
This book is filled with cookies and baked goods. And if that isn’t enough to make you smile, it also has the most adorable romance and the cutest family ever.


TROPICAL FLOWERS – a book set in a foreign country

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr:
This is my favourite book of all time and probably my most talked about book on my blog. This book is a historical fiction novel set in WWII France and Germany. And I love it to bits.


TREE SHADE – a book in which a mysterious or shady character was introduced

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab:
Holland from ADSOM was the first shady character that came to mind. My first impression of him was VILLAIN but as the book progressed I wasn’t sure what to think of him. He’s definitely done some bad things but I still haven’t quite figured him and his motives out yet.


BEACH SAND – a book that was grainy, and the plot barely developed

99 Days by Katie Cotugno:
This book was a total waste of my time. The main character doesn’t seem to have learnt anything from her mistakes and there is no character development. The book ends with her running off to college and escaping all of her problems. I gave this 2 stars at the time of reading it, but it really should have been a 1.


GREEN GRASS – a character(s) that were full of life, making you smile

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli:
I absolutely loved this book because it had the most adorable characters and romance. I loved reading from Simon’s perspective and this whole story and journey made me smile.


WATERMELON – a book that had some juicy secrets

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson:
I thought this book was brilliant (and it’s one of my all-time favourite books)! This book is written from two perspectives and two timelines. Noah and Jude are twins and they were unseparable until they were 13 and something happens to tear them apart. Noah has one part of the story and Jude has the other, but until they come together again they’ll never find out the whole truth of what happened. READ THIS!


SUN HAT – a book that had a vast, big universe/setting

The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare:
I definitely read a lot more contemporary books set in the real world, and I’m still discovering fantasy. But the Shadowhunter world seems pretty big to me (though it is urban fantasy…I DON’T KNOW!). To me, the Shadowhunter world is very intricate and well-thought out and I love all of the books.


BBQ – a book in which a character was portrayed as a hunk

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch:
Theron from Snow Like Ashes! There are even descriptions of his bare chest (see my review)! He’s definitely a hunk.
Honorable mentions: Tamlin from A Court of Thorns and Roses, Rowan from Throne of Glass, Will Herondale from The Infernal Devices, etc.


I TAG:

I’m terrible at keeping track of who has or hasn’t done what tag, so I tag you all!

One thought on “Summer Reader Book Tag

Leave a Reply

