The Reading Habits Tag

Reading-habits-tag

I was tagged by Alex at Silent Night Reviews to do this tag (thanks for tagging me)! Go and check out her blog if you haven’t – it’s incredibly pretty!!

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
It’s currently winter in Australia so I’ve been reading more and more in bed lately. But I also like reading on the couch when it’s less cold.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Definitely bookmark! I have a huge collection of the Book Depository bookmarks, as well as some other fancy ones that I’ve bought over the years. I use one that matches the theme of whatever book I’m reading. But if I’m really desperate and can’t find my bookmark, I will use anything!

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages?
I prefer to stop at the end of a chapter but if I’m reading on the train or bus, then I’m forced to stop at whatever page I’m on. If I’m reading at home without a time limit, I like to stop after a 10th chapter (e.g. Chapter 10, 20, 30)… because I’m just strange like that.

Do you eat or drink while reading?
The only time I eat or drink while reading a book is if I’m reading an ebook. I like to keep my books in really really REALLY good condition, so no food allowed. The only exception that I make is if a drink is in a closed container that won’t spill (like a tumbler).

Multitasking: music or TV while reading?
I rarely do anything else while I’m reading. I don’t have the best attentional control so it’s really hard for me to concentrate on what’s going on in the book if I’m also trying to pay attention to something else. The only time I read while watching TV is during the commercial breaks. And I find music very distracting unless I’ve listened to it so many times that it blends into the background.

One book at a time or several at once?
I never read more than one book at a time. I much prefer to finish a book before moving on to the next one. The only time you’ll see two books on my Goodreads currently reading shelf is if I haven’t had the chance to write a review for one yet, or if I’m reading a book of short stories.

Reading at home or everywhere?
I prefer to read at home where it’s quieter but I’ve been trying to read while I’m out and about as well. I read on my commute to and from university and sometimes I read ebooks on my phone while I’m waiting in a queue for something.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?
I don’t think I’ve ever read out loud before, and definitely not a whole book.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
Okay, I am guilty of doing this. Sometimes when the suspense gets too much… I do a quick flick through the book. But I’ve been trying really hard not to do this lately, and I’ve been succeeding at it too.  And I always go back and read every page of the book. I never leave a single question unread.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
Keeping it new! I need my books to be in near perfect condition so broken spines are a no no for me. When I read paperbacks, I only open the book a little bit and I just read from the tiny gap like a crazy person.

Do you write in your books?
I have never written in a book, even required readings in English classes. Well… I have written my name on the title pages before, but that’s about it.

I tag:

I have no idea who to tag since this Reading Habits Tag has been going around for a while now… But I’ll tag my three most recent followers (thanks for following!):

11 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Who would write in their books? I am HORRIFIED this is even an option. I agree, Aussie is wayyy too cold at the moment, I have to hide under my fort in bed as well. I have a crap ton of bookmarks but I never seem to use them unless I remind myself haha. And I am TOTALLY a skim reader too when I get bored. Life is too short, there’s too much blogging to be done, etc… to suffer through slow scenes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. himanshu24051996 says:

    I want to make my site which has something really awesome stuff for readers around the world ;).. ..and for that, posts like this and many others give me ideas to do so….i really appreciate your efforts for doing it… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

