Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

top10tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is hyped books I’ve never read. These are not books that I won’t ever read – most of these I just haven’t gotten around to reading yet. So let’s jump right into it. This list is in no particular order:

1. The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead: I feel like this is a series that I probably won’t be picking up for a long time. I’m not a huge fan of books with vampires. I’m just a little bit over it.

2. Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth: A friend of mine spoiled the ending of the trilogy for me, so I had no urge to pick it up after that happened. I’ve also heard very mixed reviews about Allegiant so I’ve been putting off reading the trilogy. But, a couple of days ago, I managed to pick up a hardcover edition of Divergent for only $7, so I probably will read it sometime this year.

3. Looking for Alaska by John Green: I’ve read The Fault in Our Stars and Paper Towns by John Green but I’ve never really had an urge to read all of his other books. Paper Towns was the most recent one I read and I didn’t really connect with the characters or the story that much, which has put me off picking up Looking for Alaska. However, I probably will read it at some stage before the movie comes out.

4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: I have been meaning to read this book for the longest time. I just need to pick up a copy from my bookstore and get into it.

5. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard: I’ve heard some mixed reviews about this book so I haven’t picked it up yet. I wait until the next book comes out and see what other people think of that before I pick them up.

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: I already have a copy of this, but I plan to read this with some friends so I haven’t read it yet.

7. The Host by Stephanie Meyer: I don’t really have any plans to read this now or in the future. This book has been out for a really long time, and if I haven’t read it yet, I probably won’t ever read it.

8. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab: I’ve been hearing about this book since the end of 2014 and I really need to pick up a copy and read it! The reason why I haven’t bought a copy yet is because I can’t choose between the US cover and the UK/Australian cover.

9. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell: This was the first Rainbow Rowell book I bought and now it’s the only one I haven’t read. I started this book at the end of 2014 but I ended up having to put it down for some reason that I can’t remember. And I just haven’t picked it back up yet.

10. Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson: I’ve only heard great things about Mistborn. And I do plan to read it sometime this year. There are just so many books on my TBR shelf and Mistborn is a lengthy trilogy. Hopefully I can shrink my TBR a little before picking it up.

If you’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday post, please send me a link in the comments. I’d love to see your list! If you’d like to participate in Top Ten Tuesday, the rules are on The Broke and the Bookish Top Ten Tuesday page.

Leave a Reply

